Harewood CastleImage courtesy: Tom Blackwell
Harewood Castle, evocatively shrouded in mist.
Despite this, the castle has survived in relatively good shape in comparison to many similar buildings.
The site was originally occupied as early as the 12th century, but the building seen today wasn't constructed until the 14th, when William de Aldburgh was responsible for the building of the large stone keep. Records seem to show that the building was still in use around 1630 but abandoned to the elements during the Civil War. The lords of the manor had, by the 18th century embarked on the building of the far larger Harewood House and the castle was rapidly swallowed by woods. Attracted by the picturesque nature of the ruin, no less a luminary than William Turner painted several studies here
The building today is not routinely accessible to the public, given its general state of decay, but the Harewood estate undertook works during 2010-11 to stabilise it to some degree and it now features on several of the guided walks around the estate.